Back in the 808: Giovanni’s Shrimp Truck

I know I’ve mentioned this before but TM was born and raised in Hawaii and does not like seafood.  I’ll give you a second to process that because it doesn’t register for most people right away.  TM does eat some sushi and shrimp now… there was a time in his life when he did not even consider eating any seafood at all.  I am fortunate to have met him after the jump since sushi is one of my favorite foods.  It would be a huge disappointment not to be able to go out for sushi together.

We decided to play tourist a little bit and make the drive out to Giovanni’s Shrimp Truck.  In all the times I’ve been to Hawaii, it’s never been a priority for me to eat from the shrimp truck.  The drive there is not the most comfortable when you’re riding in a 5-speed with a full stomach from breakfast and no A/C.

I felt like we had been driving forever but before we even saw this sign, I knew we were in the vicinity because you could smell the garlic from a mile away.

There were quite a few people in line for shrimp!  TM and I had decided we would share a plate of the shrimp scampi since we had literally just finished eating breakfast an hour earlier.

The shrimp scampi was full of butter and garlic with more of the sauce and crispy garlic chips drizzled over the rice.  We got a full order which consisted of a dozen shrimp and two scoops of rice for $13.  Not bad.

I’m glad we made the drive out to Giovanni’s that day.  The food was good and the weather was pleasant.  Now that we’ve gone once, I’m not sure that we’d go again.  There are so many other places on the island that don’t take up as much time but if you’re already headed in that direction, it’s worth a visit.

56-505 Kamehameha Highway  Kahuku, HI

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Back in the 808: Giovanni’s Shrimp Truck”

  1. The Mister Says:

    Yeah, it was nice trying out the original, but I think we’ll be ok skipping the long drive. If for some reason we ever make it back out there again, maybe I’ll try the spicy shrimp instead of the scampi. No refunds on the spicy shrimp, if it’s too hot, too bad for you. It’s cool that they built a pavilion for people to sit down and enjoy the shrimp. I remember the days when it was just a food truck on the side of the road. They had a check-in deal on Yelp! when we went so we also got a free drink with our meal. That was pretty cool and the first time I’ve ever used a check-in deal.


Leave a Reply

