Back in the 808: The Pineapple Room

I’ve been dragging my feet on writing this post about The Pineapple Room.  My pictures are dark and quite frankly, I wasn’t impressed with the food.  I had eaten there for lunch years ago and thought it was average.  It wasn’t memorable by any means (I really have no idea what I had that day and I can’t even remember who I went with!) but TM had never been so we chose to go there for a family dinner.

After all of the snacks we consumed, would you believe we headed to dinner a mere hour or so later?  We had a family dinner at The Pineapple Room (inside the Macy’s at Ala Moana Center) which is an Alan Wong restaurant.   Alan Wong is one of the twelve cofounders of Hawaiian Regional Cuisine.

I apologize for the darkness of these pictures but the flash overexposed everything.  I ordered the pan steamed onaga “Chinese Style.”  It had tofu underneath, lup cheong sausage, shiitake mushrooms with a ginger soy sauce.  To be honest, I was drawn to this dish because of the tofu included with it but it was nothing special.  I couldn’t even find it when I first started eating because it was hidden by everything else.

One of TM’s favorites is ochazuke.  It is a simple Japanese dish, usually tea over rice with other savory toppings.  TM’s Mom ordered the king salmon with ochazuke risotto.  I’m not sure what made this a risotto as opposed to regular ochazkue.  The rice must have been cooked for awhile before the tea was poured over.

TM’s Dad went with the rib steak which came with braised Maui onions, garlic mushrooms, tomatoes and herb butter.

Ryan got one of the specials that night.  For the life of me, I cannot remember what he ordered.  It was fish. The end.

TM went with the seared peppered ahi with asian slaw.  It had won bok, crispy won ton pieces, peanuts with a soy vinaigrette.

The only other dish besides my own that I tried was TM’s Mom’s plate.  I tried a bit of the ochazuke to see what it was like.  I was so full from all of our snacks that I probably didn’t fully appreciate my meal.  Now that this post is over, I can move on to the other places we ate on our trip!  They are definitely more exciting, I promise.

1450 Ala Moana Blvd # 1300  Honolulu, HI (inside the Macy’s at Ala Moana shopping center)
Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Back in the 808: The Pineapple Room”

  1. The Mister Says:

    Yeah, I was slightly disappointed with the Pineapple Room. Granted they are more known for their kalua pig sliders at lunch and their loco moco, but it felt just wrong to me to eat a loco moco for that kind of price. My brother had a bacon crusted kampachi. Now that I’ve tried Pineapple Room, I think I’ll be ok without having to go again.


Leave a Reply

