Happy 2012!

Did you make any resolutions this year?  While I could probably do without dessert for a few weeks and work out more, this post isn’t about dieting.  It is about my love for sharing food with others.  One of my resolutions for 2012 is to update this blog more.  Significantly more than last year.  I saw a quote online recently that I decided to make my motto: “Eat Well, Travel Often.”  TM and I often travel with our stomachs and I am lucky to have found someone willing to share this motto with me.

Our first adventure of 2012 starts this weekend to the Aloha State where TM grew up.  It’s been awhile since we’ve been back to the islands and our list of places to eat is twenty-one places deep.  Twenty-one!  We’ve got breakfast, lunch, snacks, dinner and late night snacks planned out for the short time we’re there and I plan to diligently blog about our journey.

I apologize because I’ve probably shared this picture before but poke is one of the things I crave the most when I think about food from the islands.  It is a raw fish salad (usually yellowfin tuna) served as an appetizer in Hawaiian cuisine.   We love picking it up from Foodland or other places and eating it with rice.  The last time we were back, we practically went straight from the airport to buy poke to eat as part of our first meal.  I am hoping this time we can do the same!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Happy 2012!”

  1. fatjenny Says:

    looks so good! have fun and eat some for me too! 🙂

  2. The Mister Says:

    Ahh, poke. My gateway into the world of seafood. If it wasn’t for poke I wouldn’t have started to eat raw fish/sushi/shrimp and other seafood. I grew up most of my life not really liking seafood aside from a few select things. We may not have ended up together if it wasn’t for poke since not eating sushi would have been a deal breaker for our relationship. It’s so awesome, and while you can sort of get it here on the mainland, it doesn’t compare to the stuff you can get in Hawaii.


Leave a Reply

