Our wedding cake that wasn’t.

I’m not a huge fan of cake in general.  That said, I did want a nice cake at our wedding since a lot of people are into that and almost expect it.  We liked the cake at Satura Cakes the best out of the three places we tried.

When it was time to cut the cake on our wedding night, we were instructed how to hold the knife together and to cut the second tier where the piping was because it was the ideal location for the photographer to get perfect shots.  We held the knife together and started to cut the cake together.  This is supposed to symbolize the first task we do together as husband and wife.

Except we didn’t.

The cake was rock solid!  I had a mini freak out moment but my photog told me to cut what I can and feed it to TM.

All we got was a pathetic lump of frosting.

It turns out our cake had toppled over in the van during delivery to our venue.  Unbeknownst to me, the bakery had decided to make a styrofoam cake that resembled our real one.  They had inserted a piece of cake on the second tier and drawn some piping on it so we’d have a target place to cut.  Everything would’ve been fine except they inserted the slice of cake in the wrong place!  Or they drew the piping in the wrong place!  Either way, TM and I attempted to cut styrofoam when everyone was taking pictures of us wondering why we weren’t feeding each other.

I finally heard this story a couple of days after our wedding – the day we were leaving on our honeymoon.  I was livid to say the least.  I spent quite some time in Fiji corresponding with the manager at the bakery and she offered us a 60% refund.   To make a long story short, I spoke with the owner, argued it down to free and got an anniversary cake out of it.

We picked up our anniversary cake after we got back from our trip.  We chose to get it in green tea flavor since that cannot be found just anywhere.  It was light with a wonderful subtle flavor of green tea.  I wish we could get one of these free every year in September.

I don’t think our cake catastrophe was worth getting an anniversary cake but I must admit, TM and I ate every last bit of it.  Maybe I’ll have to look for a matcha cake recipe to try next year since we won’t be getting one for free.

200 Main St.  Los Altos, CA

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Our wedding cake that wasn’t.”

  1. The Mister Says:

    The incident with our wedding cake was unfortunate since everyone seemed to love the (sheet) cake they ate. It would have been nice to have had an actual piece of cake rather than frosting and styrofoam to feed each other (yes I had to spit some styrofoam out). They say that you can’t expect things to turn out perfectly the way you plan it, but this was the one hiccup in our wedding that actually got captured for posterity. I really like their cakes, I just wish things could have worked out a little better for our wedding.


Leave a Reply

