My latest obsession

I tend to get obsessed with things I like.  Case in point: my pizza cravings.  And my pizza obsession.  Sometimes I can’t stop thinking about a particular food and want need to have it all the time.  Luckily, my latest obsession was something a little healthier than pizza.

Mangoes.

We spent 8 days in the Caribbean this month celebrating our one year wedding anniversary.  I can hardly believe a year has passed.  I don’t think I ever documented our wedding food on this blog.  <insert sad face here>  Time sure flies!

So back to the mangoes.  We stayed at one of those luxury, all inclusive, adults only resorts in the Dominican Republic.  It was so luxurious that we didn’t even bother leaving the resort.  There were 8 restaurants, 10 bars and 24 hour free room service so TM was in heaven!  We literally ate everything under the sun (including multiple packages of Oreos left in our room daily by the free mini bar.)  We found out we really enjoyed the breakfast buffet and lunch buffet at one of the restaurants on the resort.  I’ve mentioned before that I’m not much of a breakfast person so TM loaded up on the omelettes, pancakes, bacon, etc. while I loaded up on boiled egg whites and the fruit bar.

On any given breakfast and lunch, my plate usually looked like this.  I’d eat at least two plates of mangoes.  They were so sweet and ripe, I got quite hooked.

These are NOT mangoes.  I learned the hard way.  Our last full day in the DR, I had already planned out in my head that I’d gorge on mangoes since it’d be my last chance.  I got to the fruit bar and saw papaya, pineapple, watermelon, cantaloupe… but NO MANGO!  I grabbed what I thought was a mango and asked our server if someone in the kitchen could cut it for me.  I apparently handed them a green/orange grapefruit to cut for me!  (In my defense, I even asked TM if I was holding a mango in my hand and he said yes.)

So I asked another server if I could have a mango and they brought out this beauty for me.  But it wasn’t enough.

So I had to ask another server if I could have a lot of mangoes cut up for me.  Score!  I wonder when I’ll get to eat them again.  I’d imagine they don’t taste as good on the mainland and will be quite a let down after all of the mango I ate in the Caribbean.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “My latest obsession”

  1. Angelica Caraig Says:

    Mmmmm…love mangoes too! Mangoes from the Philippines are really good. If I could only bring them in here when I visit next time. Unfortunately, customs won’t let me go through with them.

    Love your blog!

    • epicurejenn Says:

      Thank you for reading Angelica! 🙂 OMG I used to get dried mango from the Philippines and they were amazing. I’d go through bags of it in one sitting.

  2. The Mister Says:

    Maybe when we finally go to Hawaii again, we can try to do it around mango season. I actually most remember eating green mangoes in my childhood, dipped in some shoyu and pepper. Never really developed a taste for the ripe fruit except for in desserts or smoothies.


Leave a Reply

