Macrina Bakery

I was stoked to find out that Macrina Bakery was literally next door to our condo that we stayed in!  Why, you ask?  Macrina Bakery was voted one of the Top 10 Best Bread Bakeries in America in Bon Appétit magazine, that’s why.

We stepped in and smelled doughy, baked heaven.

There were so many things to choose from!  We had a hard time deciding on a lil’ something sweet or a lil’ something savory.

Since we couldn’t decide, the only thing we could do was to indulge in something sweet AND savory.  Dad went with the ham and cheese dumpling (right).  It was a flaky pillow stuffed with gruyere cheese and bits of ham on top.  Obviously it wasn’t enough because Dad asked, “Where’s the ham?”  TM went with a parmesan rosemary ham biscuit.  It was a little dense but very flavorful.  Both were excellent when warmed up a bit.

I saw the word “nutella” and knew I just HAD to try the nutella brioche.  I loved the kosher salt on top to give it that salty/sweet combo and there was a huge pocket of nutella in the middle!  I’ve never had anything nutella that was short of amazing.  This cocoa puff is not to be mistaken for the other cocoa puff or the cereal.  This cocoa puff had a pocket of cocoa pudding-ish goodness inside the bread with some chocolate on top as well.

There were so many other things I’d like to try from Macrina Bakery.  I would definitely love to make another stop there the next time I visit Seattle!

2408 First Avenue   Seattle, WA

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “Macrina Bakery”

  1. Casey Says:

    you lucky duck!! (oops, I caught myself before I submitted this, i accidentally pressed the f key instead of the d for duck. phew! lol)

  2. Emme Says:

    I think I need to make a trip to Seattle!

  3. The Mister Says:

    It was so hard to choose which baked goods we would try. There were a ton of other things that sounded like they would be delicious. I really enjoyed the rosemary parmesan (no ham) biscuit. The nutella brioche and cocoa puffs were really good too. The best parts were the bites where you hit the pocket of nutella or chocolate, but like other baked goods, there was a lot of goodness concentrated on top, with a lot of “filler” at the bottom (I’m talking about you cupcakes, muffins, cakes, etc.). I would definitely like to return and try a few of their other things the next time we end up in Seattle.

  4. Angelica Says:

    Hi Jenn,
    We’re planning a trip to Seattle and I put this on Marvin’s “To Do” list already! I’ll try the Nutella Brioche and many more 🙂


Leave a Reply

