So we might’ve cheated a little…

I was most excited about trying out the english muffins at The Model Bakery in Napa.  Chef Michael Chiarello chose it for “The Best Thing I Ever Ate” so of course, I wanted to try it too.    Our hotel was a few blocks away from the bakery so we (the english muffin and I) were destined to meet!  I had heard they sell out quickly so I knew we needed head over as soon as we could.

Apparently 9:30 AM is not early enough so TM ended up with a cinnamon roll.  It was pretty dense and had raisins in it.  Not exactly my cup of tea.  Plus, I was pouty disappointed that they were sold out of english muffins!

I ended up with my usual cheese danish.  This cheese danish was quite good.  Light and fluffy and cheesy in the middle… but it was still no english muffin.

I got over the missing english muffin after while.  We stopped for lunch at V. Sattui (a must when we are in Napa) and decided to venture across the street to Dean & Deluca.  I was wandering around looking at the overpriced bags of rice (5 pounds for $6, really?!?) when I noticed their bakery counter off to the side.  It was like a light shining down from the heavens.  In the corner of the glass case I saw the english muffins with a sign that read “English Muffins from Model Bakery.” So we might’ve cheated a little.  We really DID try to get these from The Model Bakery!

I immediately bought four and took them home to eat.  They were light, airy, buttery and fluffy.  It looked nothing like a Thomas’ english muffins you buy in the store and tasted nothing like it as well!  These were so buttery, we didn’t need any extra butter and it tasted PERFECT toasted with some strawberry jam.

Oxbow Public Market   644 First Street    Napa, CA

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “So we might’ve cheated a little…”

  1. The Mister Says:

    The cinnamon roll was a bit more dense than I typically like. The cream cheese frosting was really sweet which helped to balance out the dense roll. The cheese danish was pretty good. The english muffins were amazing. They glistened with a sheen of butter and were definitely the best english muffin I’ve ever had.


Leave a Reply

