Thank you Tyler Florence!

Happy New Year!  It is rare that TM has a work-free weekend so we took this opportunity to drive up to Sausalito for a day trip.  He had never been there before and for some reason, I thought it would be sunny and gorgeous up there all weekend.

Of course, I suggested Sausalito because there was some food stuff I wanted needed to try.  I’m starting to quite love Tyler Florence and any of his food recommendations on The Best Thing I Ever Ate.  On the “Reinvented Classics” episode, Tyler mentioned the crab roll at Fish.  It is the west coast sibling to the lobster roll!

It is sweet Dungeness crab mixed with chives and butter piled onto a roll that has been grilled with butter.  You can choose shoestring fries, side salad or coleslaw but really, who would choose anything but fries?

These shoestring fries were pretty darn amazing!  They were light and plentiful!!

Here’s a close up of the crab meat.  The best part was not having to crack the crab and dig for the meat myself.  It was bite after bite of meaty, buttery goodness.  At $25 per sandwich this was definitely not a cheap meal but so worth it.

TM is a real trooper and went along with me (he had no choice, really) to this seafood restaurant.  He ordered the Saigon Salmon sandwich which was a grilled marinated salmon with carrot, jalapeno, cilantro, with a Vietnamese ginger scallion sauce spread onto the roll.  The sauce definitely had a little kick to it!  He ordered the side of coleslaw and stole some of my fries.

TM splurged and went for a hot chocolate since it was so cold out.  It had the perfect blend of cinnamon in the hot chocolate!

All cold drinks were served in darling Mason jars.  Even the draft beer!  (I have a feeling they started this before the current wedding trend.)

Everything on the menu is fresh and sustainable.  Fish Restaurant received the Sustainable North Bay Award to honor their commitment to protecting wild fish populations and helping the local economy by supporting local fisherman.  Go Fish!

We arrived at 11:30 on the dot and were the second party in the restaurant.  We soon saw families and couples come in.  I’m so glad we got there when we did.  Every seat in the place was filled once we got our food and a family of four snatched up our table as soon as we stood up to leave.

I was surprised at how many families with little children there were at Fish.  I asked TM if we would come back with our kids one day and he said our future kids can eat $1 chicken mcnuggets from McD’s… not $7 PB&J that is on the menu at Fish.  They have a small kids menu with four items on it including fish sticks, grilled cheese, PB&J and pasta.

This place is cash only so make sure to hit the ATM before you go!

350 Harbor Drive   Sausalito, CA

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “Thank you Tyler Florence!”

  1. The Mister Says:

    I did have a bite of the crab sandwich. I was actually pleasantly surprised. It didn’t have the fishy, off-putting flavor that I normally taste when eating shellfish. I’m starting to think that if the shellfish is really fresh I don’t taste as much of that flavor. Personally I would go back just for the hot chocolate. It had a perfect amount of cinnamon. The salmon was nicely cooked as well, not dried out. There were a couple of other things that sounded really good on the menu so I would definitely not mind going again.

  2. Emme Says:

    I love that show as well! It always makes me so hungry so I have to eat it with a bowl of popcorn!

  3. Anna Says:

    I work within walking distance of Fish, and get that crab roll every chance I feel I can splurge! It’s on target every time!

  4. sjm Says:

    I went to fish. on Saturday following seeing the best thing i ever ate. I try to follow up on Tyler Florence’s suggestions as I trust his assessments and taste after many successful suggestions taken. (really happy he is in the SF Bay Area now) I really liked the crab roll especially as it does not have any mayonnaise or sauce. It is a splurge but every once in a while it is good to spurge. The fries are plentiful and light and crispy! The owner is really really warm and friendly, he came over to our table to chat. Thank you Tyler for the great tip!

  5. Dewey Says:

    Anna, you lucky bummer! You’ve gotten to enjoy the Crab Roll more than once?!! Yummy. Enjoy your splurges! I came all the way over from the East Bay with a friend and my folks to enjoy (thoroughly)every bite of my $25 sandwich just last weekend. All three of them ordered the $19 fish & chips. We also had a serving of mixed wild mushrooms and the ceviche with salmon in it. Delicious food here! Thanks for the tip from me also Tyler!


Leave a Reply

