Totally weeeiiirrrdd ice cream

By weird I mean prosciutto weird.   Pistachio bacon ice cream weird.  And peanut butter curry weird.   I got sucked in by another episode of  “The Best Thing I Ever Ate” and headed over to Humphry Slocombe for some dessert.  This episode was about the totally unexpected flavors you wouldn’t expect to go together.  Hence the prosciutto ice cream.   If you remember, Boyfriend couldn’t wait to try out Boccalone after seeing it featured on the show.  When Chris Cosentino mentioned his Boccalone prosciutto was mixed in with ice cream at Humphry Slocombe, Boyfriend couldn’t wait to try this out either.

Humphry Slocombe has tons of flavors which get rotated everyday.  They usually offer twelve a day.  Luckily, prosciutto was one of them the day we went!  Boyfriend went with a scoop of prosciutto and ancho chocolate.  Let’s just say the prosciutto ice cream was very weird and interesting.  I don’t know how I feel about meat mixed in with ice cream. There was a little heat to the ancho chocolate but the sweetness of the chocolate probably counterbalanced it.

Kio got “Jesus Juice.”  It is the red wine and Coca-cola flavored sorbet on the right.  I had a little taste and distinctly tasted the red wine flavor.  It was strange tasting red wine in ice cream form.

I love ice cream too much to have my experience ruined by a weird flavor.  I was boring and got Blue Bonnet Vietnamese Coffee ice cream.  It was delicious!  I think we’ll probably stick to Bi-Rite in the future though.

The sign was chained to the lamp post in case someone tried to steal it.  All in all I’m glad we went and I’m glad I tried little tastes of weirdness.

2790 Harrison St.  San Francisco, CA

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Totally weeeiiirrrdd ice cream”

  1. Boyfriend Says:

    The prosciutto was pretty good to try, but I’m not entirely sure I’d get it again. They had some other flavors as well that I was interested in, both strange (Secret Breakfast: Bourbon and Cornflake flavored) and normal (Cinnamon Brittle). I still like Bi-Rite’s Ricanelas best, but maybe the Cinnamon Brittle would have been comparable.


Leave a Reply

