Croissants, anyone?

We were in LA again (yes again) last weekend for a quick trip.  Faye recommended Anisette Brasserie so we decided to stop by for a quick breakfast since it was right down the street from where we were staying.

This place totally brought me back to Balthazar in NY for some reason.  Faye said everything on the menu is good and it’s an oyster bar at night.  Their pastries are baked fresh daily.

DSC04805

She highly recommended the croissants.  I couldn’t decide between a chocolate or almond one when the lady suggested I go with the “double whammy” – a chocolate almond croissant!  We also got a plain croissant with jam.

Since it was nice out, we got them to go and sat on a bench on 3rd St. while we ate.  I was quite disturbed that I forgot to grab napkins because these croissants are buttery messes (as they should be!) and got all over my fingers.  The plain croissant dipped in jam was perfect and I’m not sure there are words for the chocolate almond one.  It had chocolate, almonds, powdered sugar and cocoa powder in every bite.  It was another kind of perfection!

225 Santa Monica Blvd.  Santa Monica, CA

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Croissants, anyone?”

  1. Emmie Says:

    Those look so good!!

    We are going to be in SF for just two days, 31st and the 1st. I have only driven through SF, so this is my first real visit.

  2. Richard Says:

    I thought you didn’t eating with you fingers?!

  3. Boyfriend Says:

    The decor was very reminiscent of Balthazar’s. The croissant reminded me very much of some of the better croissants I’ve had. It even reminded me of one I had in France. The chocolate/almond croissant was really good too. The chocolate tended to overpower the almond taste, but I didn’t mind that at all. Too bad this place is in Santa Monica. I could totally imagine stopping here on the weekends to pick up more croissants.


Leave a Reply

