Our long journey…

I knew before we even booked this trip that I needed to eat NY style pizza at least once while in New York.  We were down to our last night so I was getting worried that we weren’t going to make it.  Joy came to the rescue and said she knew of the perfect place to take us!  She just didn’t know where it was.  Or what it was called.  Or the cross streets.  Basically, she wasn’t sure about anything except this pizza was great the one time she tried it.

We ate dinner then started on our journey.  We zig-zagged through the streets of New York in search of this nameless pizza joint.  All she remembered was that when you step out of a particular bar, the pizza place is right across the street.  We finally found said bar and realized that her beloved pizza joint was now a hot dog stand!

We walked around and found Joe’s Pizza, a recommendation by one of Randall’s friends.

6919_861803217306_2503943_49151759_6258550_n

[photo courtesey of Randall]

I was so excited to eat that I forgot to take pictures of the pizza slices themselves, just pictures of us WITH the pizza.  This was exactly the kind of pizza joint I wanted.  I didn’t want a sit down, fancy place but wanted to point to my slice at the counter, have them stick it into the oven to warm it up and then stand around a small table while eating.  I got a slice of cheese pizza and put on garlic powder, oregano, and chili flakes.  You can’t go wrong with a slice of pizza for $2.50!  After our journey around the West Village, I had built up another small appetite even though we had eaten dinner about 45 minutes prior!  I consumed my pizza in no time flat.

DSC04722

Do you have any idea how many Joe’s Pizzas there are in New York?!?  Probably not half as many as those which claim to be THE BEST in all of New York. ; )  This one was perfect and hit the spot.  The next time I go, I’ll have to try other places to compare!

7 Carmine Street  (Carmine and Bleeker) Manhattan, NY

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Our long journey…”

  1. joy Says:

    I can’t stop laughing!!!! Your description was SO spot on! I’m a hoot ! and that pizza was yum!

  2. Boyfriend Says:

    I had actually eaten a slice of pizza earlier in the day (ok, like three or four hours before). It was definitely not as good as this one. The blend of cheese, tomato sauce, pepperoni (yes I got the pepperoni) and crust was about as good as you can get. I’ve had NY style pizza before, but now I can finally say I’ve had a true NY pizza.

  3. Richard Says:

    Yummy!!!


Leave a Reply

