Hundred Acres

Randall had mentioned he wanted to take us to Hundred Acres for brunch so we checked out the menu online before we went.  Boyfriend LOVES anything cinnamon (or curry) so when we saw the Cinnamon-sugar Donuts with mocha dipping sauce as a starter, I knew he’d want to try them.

IMG_1582

We get to the restaurant and alas, there are no cinnamon-sugar donuts on the menu!  No mocha dipping sauce.  Nothing of the sort.  Poor Boyfriend.  So I went ahead and ordered warm, cream homemade biscuits with honey butter and banana walnut bread. 

The biscuits were good but pretty dense.  They really expanded in my stomach later on.  The star of the plate was the honey butter.  Randall likes this honey butter so much that he stole a bite of it and licked it right off his knife!

IMG_1583

Boyfriend went with a chilaquiles dish that was very filling. 

IMG_1585

I chose the blueberry pancakes with creme fraiche.  The pancakes were light, fluffy and scumptious but I was so full from my biscuit that I barely finished one!

IMG_1586

 

Randall and Vu both went with Poached Eggs
house-made biscuits, smoked salmon & hollandaise sauce

 

 

IMG_1587

 

 

 Horace went with the French Toast on
semolina-raisin bread, caramelized pineapple & honey yoghurt

 

IMG_1589

 

 

 Horace’s cousin Derrick went with one of the specials.  An open faced sandwich.  It must’ve been good because his plate was wiped clean when he was done!

IMG_1591

 

 

 Horace’s other cousin Ehrlick went with the Acrs Scramble which came with a side of corn bread and salad.

 

IMG_1593

Hundred Acres had a really nice atmosphere and comfy decor.  I feel like I hardly ate anything though because the biscuit made me so full.  I’ll have to not order a starter next time and stick to a main dish!

38 MacDougal St.  (between Prince and Houston St.)  New York, NY

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Hundred Acres”

  1. Boyfriend Says:

    Yet again something I want to order is not available (the cinnamon donuts). The warm cream biscuits were a nice consolation though. My chilaquiles were good, but not extraordinary. I think the biscuit took up a lot of space in my stomach as well since I was totally stuffed after this brunch. I had a few bites of Girlfriend’s pancakes as well, but I couldn’t finish what she couldn’t finish.

  2. Monty Burns Says:

    Are the warm cream biscuits that come with the banana bread the same as the ones with the poached eggs?

    How was the banana bread?

  3. epicurejenn Says:

    @Monty Burns: I’m pretty sure the biscuits I ordered as a starter are the same ones that come with the poached eggs. The banana bread was nothing to write home about. It was actually kind of dense too, from what I remember…


Leave a Reply

