Frrrozen Hot Chocolate!

The day we left for New York, Oprah had a food episode which showed clips from past episodes with celebrities and their favorite recipies.  I watched the episode when I got back and had no idea that she had visited Serendipity 3.

IMG_1575

We went to Serendipity 3 before heading back to Randall’s one night because it’s not too far from where he lives.  We went around 1 AM (they close at 2 AM) so there was no wait.

IMG_1580

Boyfriend went with the Humble Pie.  It’s a creamy peanut butter pie with a graham cracker crust.  It was sweet, rich and just as creamy as the menu promised.

IMG_1578

I really wanted to try the frozen hot chocolate since that is their signature dessert.  Candace and Randall both went with the frozen hot chocolate as well.  There are two new flavors (mint and cherry) so I had to try the mint frrrozen hot chocolate!  It tasted like a mint chocolate granita, pretty icy but flavorful at the same time.

When Oprah visited Serendipity in 2004 the owner Stephen Bruce offered to teach her how to make frozen hot chocolate at home.  I got really excited and envisioned myself making the drink for guests the next time we entertain.  He told Oprah to pour in one cup of cold milk, 3 cups of ice, 1 pack of frrrozen hot chocolate mix (!!!) and then blend it all together.  Put whipped cream and chocolate shavings on top, put in two straws and you’re good to go!  There are 14 different blends of chocolate in the mix packet.

It seemed like more of a commercial to buy the mix from the store than a recipe.  I was disappointed he didn’t give an actual recipe for the drink but at least I now know there is a closer Serendipity to me than in New York.  There is a Serendipity 3 in Ceasar’s Palace in Las Vegas!  I loved the quirkiness and decor of the place and can’t wait to find out if the Vegas one mirrors the one in New York.

225 E. 60th St.  New York, NY

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Frrrozen Hot Chocolate!”

  1. Emmie Says:

    I have always wanted to go there and try the frozen hot chocolate! Although I don’t like peanut butter at all but that pie look so good!

  2. Boyfriend Says:

    I was already stuffed from the Peter Luger’s dinner and the beer at the bar we went to afterward. Cramming the Humble Pie down was so totally worth it. I really enjoy eating peanut butter which would explain why my favorite candy is Reese’s Peanut Butter cups. I thought it went really well with the Frrrozen Hot Chocolate. This stop alone may well explain half of the 5 pounds I put on during this trip.

  3. mfcm Says:

    Goddamit, ‘frozen hot chocolate’ sounds so stupid. It is just an ice chocolate…. Damn Americans!


Leave a Reply

