Takahashi Market circa 1906

Boyfriend and I took my parents to the Giants game on Saturday to celebrate my Mom’s birthday.  I knew my parents would prefer Japanese food rather than overpriced stadium food so we stopped at Takahashi Market in San Mateo to grab lunch.

DSC04466

I love these little Mom & Pop shops!  They have fresh shipments of Hawaiian food every Thursday and tons of Hawaiian plate lunches on their menu.  My Mom went with the saba shioyaki over rice with wakame salad on the side.

DSC04465

My Dad tends to order unagi every time we go out for Japanese food.  It’s one of his favorites!  He also went with the wakame salad on the side.

DSC04467

I went with the misoyaki butterfish which was excellent!  Mine came with a few edamame for some reason and I got wakame salad too! 

DSC04464

Boyfriend is a true carnivore and went with the kalua pig and rib combo with rice and chose kimchee as his side.  I had a bite of the ribs and really liked them!

Takahashi Market has been around for over 100 years now!!  They must be doing something right to still be in business. : )  I would definitely go back to pick up lunch.  The prices are reasonable and the people are really friendly.

221 S. Claremont St. San Mateo, CA

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Takahashi Market circa 1906”

  1. foodhoe Says:

    My mom grew up on the peninsula and remembers that Mr. Takahashi used to drive a truck out to all the farms and sell japanese food from it!

  2. Emmie Says:

    Yummy! I love butterfish!

  3. Boyfriend Says:

    The kalua pork was pretty good, just about the same taste as if you had ordered it from a plate lunch place on the islands. The ribs were pretty good too considering that they weren’t covered in BBQ sauce. I’m not a huge fan of most types of cooked fish, but there were plenty of other menu choices I would have loved to try! I also know now where I need to go if I have a craving for some particular Hawaiian thing I can’t find at Marukai or make myself. They had a lot of ono grinds lining their shelves.

  4. Jill Matsunaga Says:

    Nice to know you folks have a back-up place to go when you’re craving Hawaiian food. Boyfriend’s plate looks empty without that scoop of mac salad!!


Leave a Reply

