Fushimi Inari

One place I had wanted to visit for awhile is Fushimi Inari Taisha in Kyoto.  I’ve been to Kyoto numerous times and have seen other temples but never all the famous red torii at Fushimi Inari.

DSC03747

It was so serene and once we were there, I felt like we were officially in Japan.

DSC03749

The shrine is at the bottom of a mountain named Inari and there are many trails leading up to smaller shrines.  Inari is the god of business so each torii is donated by a business and their names are carved into the back of each one.

DSC03762

After walking through the torii and viewing the temples there, we stopped in a random restaurant on the main road.  Boyfriend went with the curry soba and liked it a lot.  He tends to like anything curry flavored though!  I’m actually not a fan of curry udon so I probably would not have liked his dish had I tried it.

DSC03760

I was intent on eating inari sushi since we were at Fushimi Inari.  I went with zaru udon (cold udon that you dip in sauce) and inari sushi on the side.  The inari were quite sweet

DSC03761

My cousin ordered soba with grilled fish in it.  This particular kind of fish is very popular in Kyoto, I believe it is Sabo Ajitei.

DSC03763

My cousin’s wife went with a yuba udon for her meal.  It looked really good but I was too shy to ask if I could try a bite.  If I ever go back, I’d love to try it.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Fushimi Inari”

  1. chubbs Says:

    i ate curry ramen tonight… i’ve had ramen 3x this week. haha. i’m really sad that i didn’t get to hang out w/ you guys while you were here!!

  2. Boyfriend Says:

    My curry soba was really hot! It was also really good. I should have tried one of the inari sushi. Girlfriend’s cousin and I were still a little bit hungry after lunch so we ended up stopping by a senbei store to eat some fresh senbei. I liked the soft senbei we had so much I bought some as omiyage (souvenirs) for others back home.


Leave a Reply

