Nihon shoku (Japanese food)

In honor of our trip to Japan in April (did I mention that Boyfriend and I are going to Japan in April?!?) I am sharing with you the beauty of a Japanese meal in Japan.

23405245803_0_alb

One place I’d like to take Boyfriend to in Japan is a ryokan.  It is somewhat of a Japanese “bed and breakfast” and you sleep on the floor on tatami mats.  The meal pictured above was from a ryokan in Beppu, Japan.  This dinner was included in our stay and was brought to our room. 

Everything in Japan has to do with presentation and food is no exception.   Japanese meals always include tons of little dishes so the servings are small but you get to try a lot of different things.  Many of the dishes include fish or tofu and rice.  Can you imagine washing all of these dishes after the meal is over?!?

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Nihon shoku (Japanese food)”

  1. Boyfriend Says:

    When I travel, it tends to be on my stomach. If the food is good, I typically enjoy the vacation. With that said, I’m really looking forward to this trip since I’ve never been to Japan. I’m sure we’ll have plenty of new entries when we get back.

  2. Emmie Says:

    This looks so good! I wouldn’t want to clean the dishes!!!!!!

  3. Elaina Says:

    Was this also the place that we stayed?


  4. been through a few blogs on Japanese food this one really makes me hungry.


Leave a Reply

