Sanseis

After watching the sunset on the beach across the street from our hotel on Maui, we went to Sansei for dinner.  It was packed but luckily, we were able to get a table right away.  Boyfriend had been to Sanseis on Oahu numerous times but I never went so I was excited to try it.

I think our favorite dish of the night was their award winning panko crusted ahi tuna sushi roll.  It is ahi, spinach and arugula wrapped into a sushi roll, panko-crusted, flash-fried and served with Sansei’s mild soy wasabi butter sauce.  It was very flavorful!

We also shared the tea duck egg roll which was served with Maui sugar cane mustard and plum dipping sauces.  Boyfriend said this dish has been a hit or miss with him the other times he’s tried it… I guess we got it on a good night this time!

We couldn’t pass up the ahi poke with Maui onion.  It was very good although, poke has to be really bad in order for me not to like it.

We also ordered a few regular rolls to share and called it a night.  It was a great dinner but I think next time, I’ll go to the one on Waikiki when it’s half off!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Sanseis”

  1. Boyfriend Says:

    Sansei…
    A bit pricey if you aren’t going when it is half off. The tuna roll was pretty good, though if you don’t like the slight bitterness of arugula, you may be better off getting something else, or making sure you have enough of the soy wasabi butter sauce on it. The duck roll was pretty good. The best one I had was in Waikiki paying full price. The time I ordered it when it was half price it wasn’t as good and I think they only gave us two rolls as well so in that case half the price meant half the food. In poke, I normally like the bite of the onion, but I love the sweetness of Maui onions, so I couldn’t complain. The regular sushi was just alright.


  2. Great photos. We couldn’t get ours to turn out as good. Makes me hungry just looking at the Ahi Poke again…


Leave a comment