Sichuan food in Milpitas

Boyfriend and I went to the Greek Food Festival (GFF)  in SJ yesterday afternoon with Carlo and Vu but it was so packed that by the time we found seats, our food was consumed before I could take any pictures!  The food was very good and filling.  Of course, I got my usual gyro. : )

After the GFF, we headed out to Milpitas to meet up with Lily and Long.  Long is in Sunnyvale from LA for work for a few days.  Ironically, Boyfriend and Long are working on the same program so they’re probably at work together right now as I type.  Boyfriend used to work with Long’s Dad down in Redondo before we moved.  It’s such a small world!

After walking in circles at the Great Mall and working up an appetite, Lily directed us to South Legend Sichuan Restaurant in Milpitas.  She made sure we were all okay with spicy food before she decided on a place.  Lily’s friend Guo met us there to make it a party of five.

We started out with a winter melon and sliced pork soup.  It had the tiniest peppery kick to it which made it really good!  I think that was my first time having winter melon.  (no pics, it was served too fast and actually looked kinda “blah” anyways)

The dry fried long beans were my favorite dish of the night.  I tend to love green bean dishes at Chinese restaurants.  It was the right amount of crunchiness with a lot of flavor.

Someone chose this beef with Chinese celery dish.  I don’t really care for celery but thought Chinese celery might taste a little different.  I ate a couple pieces but Chinese celery tastes EXACTLY like American celery… it’s just skinnier.

I was pleasantly surprised with this fish filet.  (Doesn’t it kind of look like chicken??)  I’m not a sauce person so I was worried I might not like this dish but it was good.   It was my next favorite dish behind the green beans.

Mapo Tofu.  You can’t really go wrong with tofu!

All of these dishes with steamed rice made for a really nice meal.  Nothing was spicy at all, which I was a little disappointed about.  The servers were friendly, especially the one who took a group shot of us at the end.  He seemed quite concerned with how our pictures would turn out and posed us in front of some random paintings on the wall.  I would definitely love to go back for the green beans… or just learn how to make them on my own!

1720 N. Milpitas Blvd.  Milpitas, CA

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Sichuan food in Milpitas”

  1. chubbs Says:

    mmmm…i like green bean dishes at chinese food places too! 🙂

  2. Boyfriend Says:

    The winter melon soup was pretty good. I was expecting it to be bland from the looks of it, but the peppery flavor it had was a good surprise. The green beans were good, but then again I’m not entirely sure I’ve ever had a green bean dish I didn’t like (unless the green beans were overcooked). The beef and chinese celery dish was just ok. The mapo tofu wasn’t as spicy as it looked or as I expected. In fact I think it wasn’t very spicy at all. I’m surprised I enjoyed the fish dish as much as I did. I’m not normally a big fan of cooked fish. I could see possibly returning to eat here again but there were a lot of other restaurants in the same shopping center to try out. I guess we’ll see if we ever make it back there.


Leave a Reply

