The Village Idiot

We went out for Billy’s 28th birthday this past weekend to The Village Idiot on Melrose.  (Happy Birthday Billy!)  We had a group of 7 and after waiting a good hour for a table (they don’t take reservations) we were finally seated.  I liked the ambiance… it felt like more of a restaurant than a bar.  And even though it was really loud, I had a good time at dinner!  I’m sure that had more to do with our group than our actual dinner though.

We started out with a few appetizers to share with everyone at the table.  Boyfriend picked the house made potato gnocchi which was pretty impressive.  I loved the mushroom flavor!

We also got a leek and goat cheese tart and an omelette with veggies in it.

I had read online that The Village Idiot is known for it’s Pub Burger but I had just had a burger the night before so I wanted something else.  The server talked me into getting fish & chips because that is their other dish they are known for.

I can feel my arteries clogging just looking at this picture again.  I picked out the fish meat and definitely didn’t eat all of the fries.  Unfortunately, I wasn’t impressed with my dish.  The tartar sauce tasted really odd for some reason so I ate my fish AND fries with ketchup.

Boyfriend went with the Pub Burger.  It had balsamic onion relish on the side and came with fries.  He added cheese for $1.  I had a couple of bites but this was just kind of meh, as well.  (I think Father’s Office wins in this category.  They definitely had a much larger selection of beers on tap at FO’s too.)

The Village Idiots were nice enough to recognize how patiently we waited for a table and brought out two desserts on the house.  We got to try the Warm Bread Pudding with apricot Triple Sec sauce and pecan crumble along with Billy’s birthday chocolate chip cookie and scoop of vanilla gelato on the side.

All in all, I’m glad I went (it was fun celebrating Billy’s birthday with him) but would probably not go out of my way to go again. 

7383 Melrose Ave.   Los Angeles, CA 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “The Village Idiot”

  1. Boyfriend Says:

    Yeah the wait wasn’t very pleasant. One of the groups before us got into an argument with the staff. If you get seated near the bar, be prepared to have other people’s behinds (or worse crotches) in your face as the people waiting for tables tend to crowd around the bar. While we were waiting for our table, one of the people in our group accidentally bumped someone that was eating and they had a bit of an argument too. If you love the flavor of sauteed mushrooms, the gnocchi is definitely a winner. The goat cheese tart didn’t impress me and the omelette’s only saving grace was that it had asparagus. The burger’s bun was slightly burnt which I didn’t like, and the Father’s Office burger was definitely better. The fish and chips seemed like they didn’t have a lot of flavor. The warm chocolate chip cookie was good, but I’ve definitely had better bread pudding.


Leave a Reply

