I’m craving poke!

I could go for some good poke right about now.  Boyfriend just booked our tickets to Hawaii for June and all I can think about is eating.  I admit, I often think about food no matter where I am but there’s just something about ono grinds in Hawaii that make my mouth water.  One of my favorite places to eat in Honolulu is Side Street Inn.  They have gargantuan portions so it’s best to go in a group… 6 is a good number.  I always crave the same things from Side Street:  garlic edamame, Chinese chicken salad, ahi poke, fried rice and the expensive-but-worth-it pork chops.

I’m actually not particularly picky when it comes to poke.  I love getting poke at Safeway or Foodland with steamed rice and eating that for lunch.   I order it whenever and wherever possible!

47b8da25b3127cceb7ba745c7fa200000026108aanxdhy0ctq.jpg

I think I ate most of this plate from Side Street by myself!

47b8da25b3127cceb7ba745bfe9500000025108aanxdhy0ctq.jpg

This one too from Tsunami’s.  (I made that plumeria wrist lei… isn’t it pretty??)

I think I gained 5 pounds just writing about food from Side Street.  Oh wait, the 5 pounds is probably from the green tea ice cream I just ate for breakfast this morning!  Gotta get rid of the freezer stuff before we move. 🙂

Side Street Inn: 1225 Hopaka St.  Honolulu, HI  (between Ala Moana and Kakaako)

Tsunami’s:  1429 Makaloa St.  Honolulu, HI

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “I’m craving poke!”

  1. Boyfriend Says:

    Poke is so awesome. This was the food that finally got me to start eating raw fish and start expanding my food horizons into seafood. I’m still not eating quite everything yet, but I’ve come a long way since high school. I’ve only been to Side Street Inn once, but I really enjoyed it. You can sometimes catch some Hawaiian celebrities there as well.

  2. Emmie Anne Says:

    I love your blog it is great! I have actually been to Tsunami in Honolulu. Amazing! I went to college there! So nice to meet you!


Leave a Reply

