Japanese… with a Thai kick!

Allen and I drove down to Long Beach to meet up with Brian for lunch the other day. Brian had suggested Sushi Studio, not too far from where he lives. As we drove to Long Beach, Allen gave me the lowdown on the restaurant. “It’s Thai owned and they are known for their rolls. If you have a traditional sushi that you like, don’t order it here.” I love rolls so I was fine with that advice!

Once we got to Brian’s place, Allen changed his oil and I talked to Brian and played with his adorable doggie Charlie. By the time we got to the restaurant, we were all quite famished so we ordered six different plates!

I can’t remember exactly what was in what roll but I liked all of them. I believe my favorite was Sunrise On Second a.k.a. S.O.S. here below.

854912449503_0_alb.jpg

I’m usually kind of a sucker for rolls that have eel sauce on them.

722899349503_0_alb.jpg

I chose the Nine-One-One but the only thing I remember about it was that it was spicy.

922899349503_0_alb.jpg

The Symphony of Color had mango and tuna on top of it to give it that sweet taste which was interesting.

164912449503_0_alb.jpg

The Bermuda Special was salmon on wonton skins with tartar sauce (which was why Brian didn’t eat them), avocado and masago on top.
564912449503_0_alb.jpg

The Sexie Girl is in the back with shrimp tempura and the 10SC has the fried onions on top.

I noticed that a lot of the rolls had jalepenos or something of that nature to give it the “Thai kick” mentioned on the menu. None of them were incredibly spicy though. The comic book style menu was clever but I didn’t take the time to read most of it when the food came out… I was too hungry for that! Brian said they have certain rolls at Happy Hour prices on certain days… that sounds like a great deal!

4917 E. Pacific Coast Hwy. Long Beach, CA

P.S. Isn’t Charlie the pup adorable?!? I love how you can’t see his eyes! (although I’m not so sure Charlie loves that as much as I do)

522899349503_0_alb.jpg

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Japanese… with a Thai kick!”

  1. Boyfriend Says:

    Man, why did I have to be working when you went out for sushi? It sounds great, especially all the spicy stuff. Except for the Bermuda special since it looks like it has ikura. A bit too salty for my taste. The mango and tuna one sounds intriguing.


Leave a Reply

