Cupcake Craze

Jill brought over cupcakes for Boyfriend and I the other day… not from the ever-so-popular Sprinkles but from Dots Cupcakes in Pasadena!  I’ve been to Sprinkles a couple times now so it is now time to expand my options.  Sprinkles is good but something about the long line at all hours of the day gives it an elitist feel and the sign on the door is semi-snobby  err, somewhat cute. “Please keep door closed… this helps us maintain the freshness of our cupcakes.”

She took our order over the phone:  I chose Strawberry Shortcake and Boyfriend chose Apple Pie with a caramel swirl on top.  Jill kept stressing how cute the packaging is over the phone so when she brought it over, I got to see how cute the little dots are!

152301758503_0_alb.jpg

425421758503_0_alb.jpg

Overall, I might’ve liked the Dots cupcakes better than Sprinkles. *gasp*  I don’t really like overly sweet frosting and sometimes I scrape off some of the Sprinkles frosting because it is just too much.  *double gasp*  Sprinkles are $3.25 a pop and Dots cupcakes are $2.75/EA.  If you’re in the area, perhaps you can judge for yourself and decide which you like better!

739921758503_0_alb.jpg

400 S. Arroyo Parkway  Pasadena, CA

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Cupcake Craze”

  1. Boyfriend Says:

    The cupcake/frosting balance was definitely more in sync with the Dots cupcakes I think. I love sweet stuff but even the Sprinkles cupcakes were a bit much for me (though I’d never dare to scrape off the frosting) 😉

  2. Jill Matsunaga Says:

    My friends and I accidentally ran into Dot’s enroute to the racetracks one weekend. As soon as I said “oh, there goes Dot’s”, she immediately slammed on the brakes and pulled over. I’m glad she did as the cupcakes were good and surpassed all of our expectations. They make good gifts and if your buy atleast 3 cupcakes, you’ll get them in a really cute box with dots all around it. BTW, I had the red velvet which I am very partial too and loved it. Other recommendations: strawberry shortcake and vanilla.

  3. H to the Lo Says:

    Looks good, though some of the cupcakes look kinda saggy. There are a few cupcake options in the bay area, seems like it’s all spread around.


Leave a Reply

